Cr Linda Scott appointed as new Chair of CareSuper

7 April 2022

Cr Linda Scott has been appointed as the new Chair of CareSuper by the Board, following the completion of his term by Mr Terence (Terry) Wetherall AM, who served as Chair from 2018 until March 2022.

Linda joined the CareSuper Board in 2018, and was appointed as Deputy Chair in 2020. She is an experienced Board Director, previously serving as the first female Chair of Local Government NSW and currently serving as President of the Australian Local Government Association.

In addition, Linda is currently a Councillor on the City of Sydney Council and was formerly Deputy Lord Mayor. She serves on several other boards and advisory bodies, including the National Reform Federal Council with the Prime Minister, Premiers and Treasurers, the Commonwealth Government’s Regional Banking Taskforce and the NSW Environmental Trust. Linda brings in-depth knowledge of culture, governance, risk and advocacy, along with a passion for taking action on climate change.

Taking over as Deputy Chair is Dr Jeremy Johnson AM, who has been a CareSuper Director since 2018, and replacing Keith Harvey following his recent retirement is Rebecca Girard.

Jeremy was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Federation University Ballarat in 2012 for his services to the business community. He is an experienced Board Director with a strong depth of Chair experience in various organisations including current Chair of the Great Ocean Road Regional Tourism Board, Immediate Past Chair of the Central Highlands Water Board, Chair of the ACCI Tourism Restart Taskforce, current Executive Councillor and Past President of the Victorian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and a Member of the Ministerial Advisory Council on Skilled Migration. Jeremy is an active member of his local community, serving as the Honorary Secretary/Treasurer of the Arch of Victory Avenue of Honour Committee Ballarat and serving five terms as President of the Ballarat Club.

Rebecca is an Industrial Coordinator at the Australian, Municipal, Administrative, Clerical and Services Union Queensland (Services and Northern Administrative) branch, former Director of Community Services Industry (Portable Long Service Leave) Authority – who served as a member of their investment subcommittee, and was on the Energy Super Board prior to its merger with LGIA Super. Rebecca brings a wealth of understanding and experience in governance, investment, audit, risk and compliance.

The Board acknowledges the enormous contribution of outgoing Chair Terry Wetherall AM for his service. As Chair, Terry led the continued strategic focus of the Fund during the COVID-19 pandemic, and oversaw a period when CareSuper produced the highest return for the Balanced option with 17.49% for 2020/21 financial year, which was the 12th consecutive year of positive returns for the Fund. Terry strengthened the protection of current and future CareSuper member accounts following the introduction of Trustee Indemnity reforms from 1 January 2022. In line with our commitment to ensuring the best financial outcomes for members, Terry also championed the decision made during 2021, which committed CareSuper towards achieving net zero carbon emissions in the investment portfolio by 2050. Terry’s achievements go beyond the CareSuper boardroom as he was awarded an AM in 2020 for service to business and commerce, the superannuation industry and to the community.

Linda Scott commenced her appointment in April 2022 with Terry Wetherall AM continuing as a Director.

Linda says, “I’m honoured to receive the support of CareSuper’s Board to lead our award-winning industry superannuation fund to grow the retirement incomes of more than 220,000 Australians into the future”.

“I’m proud CareSuper is looking to the future, with a commitment to net zero carbon emissions across our investment portfolio by 2050, coupled with strong financial performance, including a balanced fund that has demonstrated consistent long-term outperformance,” said Linda.

“I thank both Terry Wetherall AM and Keith Harvey for their significant contributions to CareSuper members. Terry Wetherall’s contribution as Chair of our award-winning fund has been significant, successfully leading CareSuper through a pandemic to deliver strong returns and benefits for our members,” said Linda.