CareSuper announces changes to Board

7 April 2018

The CareSuper Board has appointed Employer Director Terence (Terry) Wetherall as Chair and Member Director Julie Bignell as Deputy Chair of the Fund. The new appointments have been made in line with CareSuper’s policy, which provides for Employer and Member Directors to nominate the Chair and Deputy Chair on a 4-year rotational basis.

Terry joined the CareSuper Board in 2015 and became Deputy Chair in 2017. He brings a wealth of experience to the role, holding current Directorships of the New South Wales Business Chamber (NSWBC) and TCW consulting. He is the immediate past President of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry and a former president of the NSWBC.

Julie has been a Director of CareSuper since 2013. She is a professional Non-Executive Director on the Board of Austin Health, and has previously served on the Board of North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation. Julie was previously the Branch Secretary of the Central and Southern Queensland Branch of the Australian Services Union (ASU), National Vice President and Vice President of the Queensland Council of Unions and the Assistant Secretary of Together.  

Our thanks are extended to outgoing Chair Cate Wood who will continue to serve on the CareSuper Board for the remainder of her directorship term. Cate has made an outstanding contribution to CareSuper throughout her tenure as Director and particularly as Chair. She championed several initiatives to strengthen the Fund’s governance practices, led the Board through change and tenaciously represented our members’ best interests. Cate’s achievements are not limited to the CareSuper Boardroom –  her widely-recognised commitment to the profit to members superannuation model and to maximising member outcomes, including making super fairer for women, saw her named as the AIST Trustee of the Year in 2017.